As of June 15, 2017, St. Patrick's Parish is in the parish family with St. Cuthbert's (St. Teresa) and St. Andrew's (Mount Stewart) with Rev. Augustine Ignasimuthu as Pastor.
In 1830, a group of Irish immigrant families settled here on lands owned by Father John MacDonald who had inherited this part of his father's estate. Soon they were joined by other Irish immigrants who settled nearby and by some Scottish neighbors who took up land generally around Glenfinnan.
In 1837, the parishioners erected their first church, dedicated to St. Patrick, and replaced it with a beautiful brick one in 1870 which they finished over the years.
A fire in 1897 did great damage to this church, requiring almost total reconstruction with William Harris, the chosen architect. It has been called "the truest Gothic church on the Island" and has one of Harris' most impressive interiors. Extensive maintenance of recent years has preserved this architectural hilltop gem.
A large brick parochial house was built in 1875. From 1958 until 1985, it served as a convent for the Sisters of Saint Martha who taught in local schools and brought an extra dimension to parish life. In the 1990s, this large house was transferred to a government agency for use as seniors' apartments. The present rectory was built in 1958.
Father Allan MacDonald was pastor of St. Patrick's for 49 years (1877-1926). His remains rest in St. Patrick's Cemetery.
In 1916, a mission church was erected at Johnston's River (Mount Ryan) and dedicated to the Sacred Heart. The Mass of Closure was held on October 4, 2008.
Today, more than 250 families comprise St. Patrick's Parish.